NH Division of Economic Development
YouTube Facebook Twitter Twitter
Why New Hampshire Move Start Grow About Us

    Subscribe Here to Receive Blog Updates        

Gov. Hassan Appoints 26 to Economic Development Advisory Council

Gov. Maggie Hassan this week appointed 26 people to the Economic Development Advisory Council. The membership represents all the cogs in the wheels that drive our economy – business, education, tourism, manufacturing, telecommunications, biotechnology, forest-based products, retail and more.

Established by a 2008 act of the Legislature sponsored by Hassan during her time in the state Senate, the council is charged with assisting the Division of Economic Development by providing advice on the trends and the needs across all sectors of industry and government to aid in the strategic planning efforts of the division.

In announcing the appointment, Hassan said the council will help to continue her efforts to help businesses grow and create good jobs that can support a thriving middle class.

“Through its work to assist and advise New Hampshire’s Division of Economic Development, the Economic Development Advisory Council is critical to our efforts to support innovative economic growth and help businesses create good jobs,” she said. “These appointees have a diverse track record of success in a variety of sectors across our economy, and I am confident that their service will help build a stronger, more innovative New Hampshire.”

The members of the council serve three-year terms and hail from all all corners of the state. The first meeting will be held at 10 am, March 21, here in Concord.

“With these appointments, the Economic Development Advisory Council will have broad representation of industries from every corner of the state,” said Department of Resources and Economic Development Commissioner Jeffery Rose. “This is very important as we seek their counsel in developing our economic strategy and I appreciate their time and commitment to serving on this board.”

The Governor’s appointees are:

Zenagui Brahim, director of the New Hampshire Manufacturing Extension Partnership, representing manufacturing;

Kendall Buck, vice president of the Home Builders and Remodelers Association, representing residential building;

Dean Christon, director of New Hampshire Finance Authority, representing state/local housing authority;

Patrick Clark, president/CEO of BurstPoint Networks, representing information technology/software;

Jaime Coughlin, director of New Ventures and incubator programs, member-at-large;

Eric Crainich, president of Design Standards Corp., representing biotechnology;

 Katharine Eneguess, president of White MountainsCommunity   College, representing higher education;

 Phil Ferneau, founder/director of Borealis Ventures, representing venture capital formation;

Jeffrey Hayes, director of the Lakes Region Planning Commission, member-at-large;

State Senator Jeanie Forrester;

 Judy Gove, director of the New Hampshire Electric Coop, representing electric/energy;

Stephen Heavener, director of the Capitol Regional Development Council, representing regional/municipal development;

Gale Hennessy, director of Southern New Hampshire Services, representing workforce development;

 Chris Hodgdon, director of government affairs for Comcast, representing telecommunications;

State Representative Naida Kaen;

 Carmen Lorentz, director of the New Hampshire Division of Economic Development;

 Daniel Lee, associate professor of economics at PlymouthStateUniversity;

 Patrick McDermott, director of external affairs for Hinkley Allen & Snyder, member-at-large;

 Mark McKenzie, president of New Hampshire AFL-CIO, representing organized labor;

 David Mullen, director of Pease Development Authority, representing real estate/commercial real estate development;

 Jayne O’Connor, president of White Mountains Attractions, representing travel and tourism;

 Eric Proulx, general manager of Tanger Outlet Center, representing retail;

Kathleen Reardon, vice president of Citizens Bank, representing insurance/banking/financial services;

Tim Sink, president of the Greater Concord Chamber of Commerce, representing chambers of commerce;

 Sarah Smith, extension professor at the University of New Hampshire, representing forest-based products;

Philip Suter, director of the Regional Center for Advanced Manufacturing at Keene State College.

 Lorna Colquhoun

Communications Director

NH Division of Economic Development


Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.